ALPHA CHI SIGMA EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION

Minutes of the 2020 Members Meeting Videoconference (Zoom)

Approved July 12, 2022

The 2020 Meeting of the Members of the Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation was held in via Zoom videoconference on Tuesday, July 7, 2020.

President Jennifer Showerman called the meeting to order at 10:01 p.m. EDT. Present were officers President Jennifer Showerman, Vice President Randy Weinstein, Secretary-Treasurer John E. Adams, Assistant Secretary Michael Heilman, and Assistant Treasurer Mark Evaniak; and members William Myers, Charles Carroll, D. Mitch Levings, Sherrie Settle, Abbey DeGraffenreid, Kenneth Busch, and Robert Stevens. Also present for all or part of the meeting were Jordan Fergusson, Lib Morgan, Mark Lasher, Michael Quan, Geoffrey Giarmo, Don Cole, Jason Ellis, Mike Raffay, Samantha Burger, Valerie Spanier, William Chang, Colette Robinson, Cora Lind-Kovacs, Cynthia Koffman, Merryn Cole, Scott Wilson, John Becker, Sean Pawlowski, Helen Webster, Jon Wenzel, Alison Uhl, and those individuals who were delegates at the 55th Biennial Conclave of Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity (representing the following chapters: KCPro, Mu, Tau, Delta Beta, Delta Epsilon, sDelta Pi, Delta Alpha, Gamma Theta, Gamma Xi, Iota, Alpha Rho, Alpha, Beta Phi, Beta Gamma, Beta Rho, and Beta Tau) but whose names were not recorded.

1. Secretary-Treasurer Adams announced that proxies had been received from 12 of the 14 members. The 10 of these members who were present rescinded their proxies and exercised their right to vote in person. A quorum did exist and business was authorized.

2. VOTED: on a motion by Settle, seconded by Stevens, to approve the minutes of the December 27, 2019 Members Meeting as distributed. [unanimous]

3. The President reported on her activities since the last meeting and focused on a review of activities carried out by the Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity's National Office staff on behalf of the Foundation. A timeline was developed so that essential items would not be overlooked inadvertently nor would deadlines be missed.

4. The Secretary-Treasurer reported on the status of the Foundation's funds as of May 31, 2020 and commented on the Foundation's balance sheet as distributed. Adams also reviewed the performance of the Foundations investments to date.

<u>Mathews Fund</u>: Secretary-Treasurer Adams noted the list of outstanding Mathews Loans, their balances, and the remaining loan capacity as of May 3, 2020 and reminded the Members of the federal loan forbearance policy in effect for March 13 to September 30, 2020. During this period loan interest will not accrue. He also provided an update on the Mathews Loan interest rate, which is set at the subsidized undergraduate Stafford Federal Student Loan rate (2.75% as of 7/1/20; 4.53% for the previous 2 months).

5. VOTED: on a motion by Evaniak, seconded by Carroll, to accept the officers' reports. [unanimous]

6. Ratification of Trustees Actions: Secretary-Treasurer Adams reviewed the actions of the Trustees since the last members' meeting of the Foundation:

Resolution No. 514 – 12/27/2019by Jennifer Showerman, PresidentResolved that: Brother Michael Heilman be elected a member of the Foundation for a ten-year termbeginning December 27, 2019.President: YVice President: YPresident: YVice President: YSecretary-Treasurer: YAssistant Secretary: YFor: 5Against: 0Action: Passed unanimously

2020 Meeting Minutes July 7, 2020

Resolution No. 515 – 12/27/2019

by John E. Adams, Secretary-Treasurer Resolved that: The attached agreement establishing the Beta Rho Scholarship Fund is accepted. The donor's instructions associated with this fund as described in the accompanying documents are acknowledged and agreed to by the Trustees. No administrative fees will be charged against the fund at year-end 2019. President: Y Vice President: Y Secretary-Treasurer: Y Assistant Secretary: Y Assistant Treasurer: Y For: 5 Action: Passed unanimously Against: 0

Resolution No. 516 – 1/11/2020

Resolved that: Cox, Beckman, Goss & Company, be appointed to compile the financial records of the Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation for 2019. The cost of this compilation is not expected to exceed \$3750. Secretary-Treasurer: Y Assistant Secretary: Y Assistant Treasurer: Y President: Y Vice President: Y For: 5 Against: 0 Action: Passed unanimously

Resolution No. 517 – 2/5/2020

by Jennifer Showerman, President Resolved that: The Foundation allocates \$500 to the Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity to be used as awards for the Professional Poster Session to be held at the 55th Biennial Conclave of the Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity. President: Y Vice President: Y Secretary-Treasurer: Y Assistant Secretary: Y Assistant Treasurer: Y For: 5 Action: Passed unanimously Against: 0

Resolution No. 518 – 6/14/2020

by John E. Adams, Secretary-Treasurer

by John E. Adams, Secretary-Treasurer

Resolved that: The 2020 Meeting of the Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation be held via Zoom videoconferencing on Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. EDT. The Secretary-Treasurer of the Foundation shall solicit proxies from all members of the Foundation at Foundation expense. Members in attendance at the meeting may void their proxies and cast their own votes.

President: Y Vice President: Y Secretary-Treasurer: Y Assistant Secretary: Y Assistant Treasurer: Y For: 5 Against: 0 Action: Passed unanimously

7. VOTED: on a motion by Settle, seconded by DeGraffenreid, to ratify the actions of the Trustees since the last meeting of the Foundation (Resolutions 514-518). [unanimous]

Old Business:

8. No old business was brought before the Members.

New Business:

9. No new business was brought before the Members.

10. Election of trustees for 2020-2022.

VOTED: on a motion by DeGraffenreid, seconded by Quan, to elect Randy D. Weinstein, Michael R. Heilman, John E. Adams, Mark Evaniak, and Robert E. Stevens as trustees for 2020-2022. [unanimous]

Announcements: Secretary-Treasurer Adams noted that two membership terms expire in 2020, in particular that the current terms of Michael W. Zachmeier and Randy D. Weinstein will end upon adjournment of today's trustees meeting. In addition, there currently are six open seats for members.

VOTED: On a motion by Evaniak, seconded by Carroll, to adjourn the 2020 Foundation Members Meeting. The meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m. EDT.

Prepared by Secretary-Treasurer John E. Adams June 29, 2022